Hi everyone.

I found this image online and took a liking to it.  I only realised the image is flipped after I started painting it, so before anyone says anything – I know the shoulder pad markings are the wrong way round!!!

The original artist is Kai Lim, I messaged him asking if it was okay for me to paint one of his images which he was perfectly fine with. You should all check out his work, I personally really love his style and find it fun to paint.

If you’d like to know what brands or materials I use in detail then please prefer to my Painting Materials Guide post.

Paints used:

Armour

  • Lemon Yellow Hue
  • cadmium Orange
  • Cadmium Lemon
  • Cadmium Red
  • Naples Yellow
  • Gold Ochre
  • Indian Red
  • Raw Umber
  • Paynes Gray
  • Ivory Black
  • Titanium White
  • Zinc White

Background

  • Indigo
  • Titanium White
  • Ivory Black
  • Ultramarine

Painting Stages 

Traditionally I would paint the background before focusing on the main subject, however with this one I was keen to make a start on the space marine and instead worked from top to bottom. With the background I scattered Ultramarine and Indigo, mixing Ivory Black & white to create the grey tones, and then highlighting the grey tones with Titanium White lightly. I only lightly blended the paint together as I wanted to keep it looking cloudy/misty. With the space marine my main focus is on identifying the shaded areas and where the direction of light is coming from.

Tip: The tiniest amount of Cadmium Orange and Raw Umber helps lift the combination of Lemon Yellow, Naples Yellow mix to a more realistic colour in some shaded areas

I noticed in the picture I was using that there was light hitting him on the right side creating a more brighter yellow, so I created a new mix excluding Cadmium and instead using a mixture of yellows and white.

Tip:  Jot down what paints you’ve used to create a colour.  It can easily be forgotten especially if you have used a colour you are not too familiar with.

Here is the painting so far – It still has a lot of work left on it, I am still to finish the boltgun, legs and holster, however I might leave this for now and complete it on a youtube video.

img_0929

