We used to visit our local Games Workshop store quite often and became friends with the manager running it at that time. He saw the Imperial Fists painting I was working on and wanted me to paint him something awesome.

Firstly I just want to mention that I am not entirely sure who the original artist is. I have tried looking online to find out, however couldn’t find much on it (if you so happened to know or find it please let me know).

I found this painting a little difficult due to the image I was working with as well as the combination of colours. When painting bright colours they tend to be slightly more opaque, resulting in painting more layers. Which is very time consuming, especially with oils as they dry in 2-4 days.

Paints used:

Armour

  • Lemon Yellow Hue
  • Cadmium Yellow
  • Cadmium Orange
  • Cadmium Red
  • Ultramarine
  • Cobalt Blue
  • Naples Yellow
  • Yellow Ochre
  • Gold Ochre
  • Raw Sienna
  • Burnt Sienna
  • Transparent Brown Oxide
  • Raw Umber
  • Payne’s Gray
  • Titanium White
  • Zinc White
  • Gold
  • Flesh tint

Background

  • Lemon Yellow
  • Cadmium Orange
  • Cadmium Red
  • Crimson
  • Burnt Sienna
  • Raw Sienna
  • Titanium White
  • Zinc White

 

See me painting it here!

 

Painting Stages

Unfortunately I don’t have many pictures of the beginning stages of the painting, however, I have the below! I began by focusing on the areas I knew would need to paint several layers (like the background).  Without using liquin and a fan brush, I would of struggled slightly, not going to lie.

img_1087I started by painting the main subjects (the terminator and chaos marine) leaving the building in the background last. I have to admit I did naughtily paint a lot of the trim with gold paint (obviously not real gold though, are you mad).

When painting the gold trim I found that Raw Umber really helped add depth to it. It is a great colour to use in combination with the Gold Ochre and Naples Yellow, after it dried I just lightly dry brushed over areas in Cadmium Yellow and Titanium White. This is how I managed to create a realistic 3D look.

Making the power fist appear to ‘glow’ was extremely fun. After painting the surrounding background and waiting for it to dry, I then dry brushed around it with white very lightly. I then painted a white highlight around the power fist and gently brushed over it again giving it a more softer appearance.

Overall the painting was very fun to do and our friend certainly loved it. Again, please let me know if you would like me to get into more details or if you would like me to complete step-by-step blogs instead

Please feel free to ask me anything!

img_1085-1.jpg

